Josef Martinez Wins MLS Golden Boot

Raphael Haynes
Follow me

ATLANTA (Oct. 28, 2018) – Atlanta United forward Josef Martinez tonight won the 2018 Major League Soccer Golden Boot, establishing himself among the global game’s scoring elite, with a record-breaking 31 goals this season. The 25-year-old Venezuelan reached the 30-goal mark faster than any other player in the world this season.

The 31 goals tallied by Martinez surpassed global scoring icons Cristiano Ronaldo (26, Real Madrid) and Robert Lewandowski (29, Bayern Munich). His league production is eclipsed only by the reigning Golden Boot winners from the English Premier League (Mo Salah – 32 goals for Liverpool) and La Liga (Lionel Messi – 34 goals for FC Barcelona).

With a goals-per-game average of .912 Martinez finished the season ahead of Mo Salah (.889) and in near reach of Messi’s per-match production (.944).

Martinez scored at record pace to reach the previous 27-goal record in only 25 games – faster than any other player in league history. The trio of Roy Lassiter (1996, Tampa Bay Mutiny), Chris Wondolowski (2012, San Jose Earthquakes), and Bradley Wright-Phillips (2014, New York Red Bulls) all formerly held the mark, which the Atlanta striker tied on Aug. 19 and broke at Orlando City SC on August 24 (Watch Goal). That match was Martinez’s ninth consecutive with a goal, equaling the all-time MLS record he now shares with Diego Valeri.

Adding an MLS career hat-trick record to his accolades, Martinez netted his sixth MLS hat-trick on July 21. His 10 game-winning goals in 2018 lead the league and are second-most all time (Wondolowski, 11 in 2012).



Major League Soccer Golden Boot/Scoring Champion winners


Season             Player                                      Team                                       Goals

2018                 Josef Martinez                         Atlanta Untied                          31

2017                 Nemanja Nikolić                       Chicago Fire                            24

2016                 Bradley Wright-Phillips           New York Red Bulls                24

2015                 Sebastian Giovinco                 Toronto FC                               22

2014                 Bradley Wright-Phillips           New York Red Bulls                27

2013                 Camilo Sanvezzo                     Vancouver Whitecaps FC       22

2012                 Chris Wondolowski                 San Jose Earthquakes            27

2011                 Dwayne De Rosario                 D.C. United                               16

2010                 Chris Wondolowski                 San Jose Earthquakes            18

2009                 Jeff Cunningham                     FC Dallas                                  17

2008                 Landon Donovan                     Los Angeles Galaxy                20

2007                 Luciano Emilio                        D.C. United                                20

2006                 Jeff Cunningham                     Real Salt Lake                          16

2005                 Taylor Twellman                      New England Revolution         17




Atlanta United (69 points, 21-7-6) returns to action Sunday, Nov. 4, in the first leg of the Eastern Conference Semi-finals.


Raphael Haynes

Atlanta, GA

View All Posts

Leave a Reply