NBA All-Star Carlos Boozer Joins BIG3 As Co-Captain Of The Ghost Ballers

  • By BIG3
  • January 25, 2018
  • 0

NEW YORK, NY – Jan. 25, 2018 – The BIG3 announced today that Carlos Boozer has joined the league as Co-Captain of the Ghost Ballers alongside Captain Mike Bibby and Co-Captain Ricky Davis. The trio will lead the team alongside coach George “The Iceman” Gervin. This offseason, BIG3 expanded rosters by adding a second Co-Captain to each team. In recent weeks, Nate Robinson (Tri-State), Baron Davis (3’s Company), Ron Artest (Killer 3s) and Glen ‘Big Baby’ Davis (Power), have been announced as high-profile Co-Captain acquisitions. With Boozer’s signing, only three Co-Captain spots remain.

Boozer played thirteen seasons in the NBA with the Cleveland Cavaliers, Utah Jazz, Chicago Bulls, and Los Angeles Lakers. After winning the NCAA Championship with Duke in 2001, Boozer was drafted 35th overall by the Cavaliers. Over the course of his career, Boozer averaged 16.2 points and 9.5 rebounds per game. He won an Olympic gold medal in Beijing (2008), made two NBA All-Star teams (2007, 2008) and was named to the NBA All-Rookie Second Team (2003).

In the BIG3’s inaugural season, the Ghost Ballers finished in third place after defeating Power (led by Cuttino Mobley, Jerome Williams, and DeShawn Stevenson) in the playoffs. The team will fill its three remaining roster spots in the BIG3 Draft.

The BIG3 previously announced two-year agreements with 22 player captains, co-captains and coaches from the inaugural season, including 2017 BIG3 MVP Rashard Lewis, 2017 BIG3 Champions Trilogy’s Kenyon Martin, Al Harrington and coach Rick Mahorn, Allen Iverson, Corey Maggette, Chauncey Billups, Clyde Drexler, Gary Payton, Brian Scalabrine, Jermaine O’Neal, Charles Oakley, Stephen Jackson, Mike Bibby, DerMarr Johnson, Jermaine O’Neal, Ricky Davis, Josh Childress, Cuttino Mobley, Jerome “Junk Yard Dog” Williams, George “The Iceman” Gervin, and Rick Barry.

The league has also announced that 25 players from the inaugural BIG3 season have signed to the 2018 BIG3 Draft Pool. Among those players eligible are Eddie Basden, Kareem Rush, Hakim Warrick, Ivan Johnson, Marcus Banks, Mo Evans, Paul McPherson, Rasual Butler, DeShawn Stevenson, Kendall Gill, Moochie Norris, Andre Owens, Mike Sweetney, Al Thornton, Ruben Patterson, David Hawkins, Lee Nailon, Mike James, Dominic McGuire, Xavier Silas, Derrick Byars, Desmon Farmer, Brian Cook, Eddie Robinson, and Larry Hughes. Each team will fill their three remaining roster spots at the 2018 Draft.

The BIG3’s 10-week season will tip off on June 22 and air live on Friday nights on FOX Broadcast Network and FS1

Leave a Reply